My Looney Tunes Family

Perhaps every close knit family has its own language–music, sports jargon, whatever. My family speaks Looney Tunes. Fluently. No joke. Seriously, would I make up something like that? (“You might, Rabbit. You might.”

It’s nearly impossible to go to a restaurant and order a meal. For instance:

Server: Are you ready to order?

Me:  I would like…

Any sibling: “I would like? I would like a trip to Europe!”

That’s just the beginning. The reason my brother calls me Ijitt?

Why did this inspire my brother to call me Ijitt? No clue. I promise you, I have never sneezed fire out of my snout and set anything on fire. (I really hope I don’t need to tell you that I don’t even have a snout.)

Still, it’s OK. Most of the time. We have a lot of fun. Or maybe I should say they have a lot fun. . . . .no, it’s “we.” (“Aha! Pronoun trouble!”)

You’ll have to look that last one up yourself  😉

Don’t miss the rest of the Stories My Family Tells as I Write 31 Days this October. Click here to check out the wide range of topics from a wide range of writers. Hey, it’s not too late for you to join us!

3 Comments

  1. Rachel G

     /  October 1, 2015

    I LOVE this theme for your series, because my family is a “story-telling” one, too. And we have our own family language, composed largely of classic movie quotes (mostly 50s-60s era, with some 80s cult classics thrown in) along with random Chinese and Bahasa Malaysia phrases thrown in. Then I married a Spanish speaker and now not a day goes by that we actually speak standard English to each other, in spite of the fact that we’re both English teachers….oops…

  2. Too funny. 🙂 The family that speaks Looney together stays together. . Or something like that. 😉

